Define “culture”?

So it’s getting to the end of the semester… And I still have three posts to write in order to meet the minimum requirements for the course (you know what they say, “go big or go home right?). As I predicted, and to an extent feared, I have run out of things to write about. I seem to constantly be running out of things to write about, and I have recently had a HUGE change in my life (one not for the better) and I am therefore finding it even more difficult to write a post. So please bear with me on this one, and I’m warning you if you’re not feeling patient, this could be a really long read for you.

Like I mean really really long...

Anyways I guess because this is a blog meant to talk about popular culture, I can pretty much talk about anything. Because there really is no definition of what makes something popular. I mean there are people in the world who have probably never heard the romantic fairy tales of Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie, and I would consider that to be pop culture. However among those circles of people (the ones who have not heard of  Brad Pitt) their definition of  what is popular could be something completely different.

long pointy poles? Those are popular right?

I think the term that needs to be focused on when attempting to define pop culture is “culture”. Culture is the term that defines what is popular. I suppose for this blog  the culture I will be examining is one of the cultures I belong to, and that culture is the university student blogging culture.

we do some pretty strange things ourselves...

I think it’s becoming pretty obvious that student bloggers are becoming more and more popular by the second. I mean people who write blogs like mine are a dime a dozen; literally everyone in my pop culture class has to have one. which means that there are roughly 75 other students writing eleven blogs this semester that are about the exact same subject as mine, and that’s just one class at one University in one small city. Imagine the number of student bloggers on the planet, it’s phenomenal.

elephant big

I have decided, literally while writing that last rant, that it is maybe time to examine the different forms of blogging. Because I am someone who likes to try and keep his options open, I decided the best way to do this would be to start another blog on another website. the only problem is that there are hundreds of websites devoted to letting just about anyone express themselves for free. therefore to keep things simple, and because I didn’t feel like signing up and giving my personal information to every blogging site on the internet I decided I will only start one other blog. Now it is only a matter of figuring out which site is the right site for me? I’m going to go ahead and type “free blogs” into a Google search and we’ll see what happens.

Ta-Daaa! it's a giant "t"

So I guess Tumblr it is then. If you would care to see the content of my brand new tumblr blog feel free to visit it here. Essentially the first thing I noticed about tumblr that really makes it different from WordPress is it’s user friendliness. WordPress is like a PC, if you read the instructions and take time to actually figure it out it will work very well and produce fantastic and very professional content. Tumblr however is more like a Mac, you simply sit back and let it do the work for you. It is a lot like Facebook in the way it has a newsfeed that shows you what your friends, or followers, are posting. And the way it allows you to post anything with just the click of a button really gives it an edge on the more complicated version WordPress has. I mean if you go back and read some of the pages I wrote (thinking that pages and posts were the same thing) last semester you’ll see that there are no pictures, only links. This is because I had no idea how to use the Worpress software to do the things I wanted to do such as post pictures and embed videos.

Pictured: Confused nerd on a computer from 1998. Not pictured: Me

Tumblr allows it’s users an ease of use like no other, and it allows users to create a proper profile where they can really be themselves easily. However WordPress allows users a sense of professionalism. I find that when I write these blogs I write them because I know that strangers (yes you) are going to read them. Worpress for me is not a social thing, where as tumblr appears to be more interested in the social abilities of the internet. This is not to say I wouldn’t appreciate comments on the blog, I really am interested in what the few people reading this thing actually think of it. But all I’m saying is WordPress really does not seem to encourage socializing as much as tumblr.

For those of you who thought I was above the whole cat caption meme... you thought wrong

So seriously, I know people are in fact reading these posts because I can see the view count on my dashboard. Leave a comment or something, just so I know what you think. And for now I’ll leave you with this:

yep, it's a picture of a chicken, generally reserved for toddlers to practice colouring. Print it out, colour it and send it to me, chances are if you're bored enough to read this entire blog you've probably got enough time on your hands to practice staying in the lines...

  1. Hi buddy, your blog’s design is simple and clean and i like it. Your blog posts are superb. Please keep them coming. Greets!!!

  2. Adore this article. In which did you come across this data?

  3. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  4. Hey admin, extremely informative blog post! Pleasee continue this awesome work..

  5. Nicely done mate. I agree most of what was written right here & this would certainly make myself wanna return to your blog! Bookmarked!

  6. Hi there intelligent points.. now why didn’t i think of those? Off subject slightly, is that this page sample merely from an unusual installation or else do you utilize a personalized template. I exploit a webpage i’m searching for to enhance and nicely the visuals is probably going one of the key things to complete on my list.

  7. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  8. Well thought out post. You have a important opinion on the subject and I’ll be subscribing to your feed and will hope you will write frequently on similar matters. But I was would like to know what your sources for the post are? Thanks

  9. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  10. Here is a link for you on my site http://www.conveyancingquotes.info/?page_id=9,I don’t unremarkably comment but I gotta admit regards for the post on this amazing one : D.

  11. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

  12. This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

  13. Great review! You always make me feel good.

  1. April 17th, 2011
    Trackback from : Free Xbox 360

Leave a Reply

