BABES! BABES! BABES!!!

The dreaded video project. I have, as you may know, done a video project in the past for a Strangelove class. I’m not going to sugar coat it, that last video was sub-par. So my goal for this semester is to make a much better video. I’m not blaming anyone who worked on the last video, I just realized this week that we did not give ourselves nearly enough time to properly produce a good product. I figured this weekend, because I have Saturday off work, I should get started. This way I will give myself plenty of time to actually edit and come up with a fully finished and creative product.

So lets get started here… The syllabus mentions something about the video having to be about women in society. Which indeed make sense because the first book is entitled “Enlightened Sexism” and even though as soon as I read the title I’ll admit I wasn’t exactly hooked. Only because I have taken courses in the past where the professor has been a hard core feminist, and although there is technically nothing wrong with that, however claiming that “all sex is rape” is maybe taking it a little too far. I understand that the statement “all sex is rape” is very controversial, it’s a statement that according to many sources (not going to lie here, mostly Wikipedia) says was misinterpreted. I’m not sure how you could ever interpret such a phrase but those who have read Catherine MacKinnon and Andrea Dworkin apparently did. I’ve gotten off topic here. Essentially all I’m saying is that I have no problem with feminism, as a matter of fact I support it, I just would have preferred not have been forced to study it for a semester. However, that was the old me… I found Jesus! No wait that’s not it at all. Again off topic, it’s really late. Anyways the old me would have not have been a huge fan of this book, however I promised myself I was going to do all my readings for lecture this semester, and because of that I had to read the first few chapters of the book. Believe it or not, I enjoyed it, it is fantastically written.Just thought I would put that in there because to be honest I don’t have any idea where I’m going with this right now.

Right the video! I’m doing my project on women in advertising and how they’re seen by society. I would question whether society has really progressed any since the 60’s feminist movement. I know we no longer see ads that look like this…

I actually really enjoy cooking, just FYI

But we still see women in advertising as a lower and more discriminated against gender. The only difference is that in today’s society we hide it a bit better. or do we?

I dare you to go on Google images and search "beer ad" I DARE YOU!

Really? That’s what came out of the countless generations of feminism and fighting oppression? This is my argument, this is what I would like to look at in my video. I realize it’s a broad topic right now, but it’s still a work in progress, and good things take time, so be patient please. Until next time this is my video post goodbye. The Australians really know how to sell beer, which I find a little funny because from what I’ve been told I wouldn’t imagine it being too difficult to sell beer in Australia.

P.S. Be sure to click on the link to the “found Jesus” thing, it made my day, fantastic piece of work done by those individuals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

